Adventures With Buster

This is a special little post because it enables me to add a new category to the kind of books I review. Children’s books. Adventures With Buster, by London L. Pickett, is a small, illustrated non-fiction about the writer’s life with her guide dog, Buster. Buster was trained to be a guide dog at Southeastern Guide Dogs in Palmetto, Florida.

When Miss Pickett sent me an email asking me to review it for her, I agreed at once. It deals with my absolute favourite subject: dogs. The writer needs Buster because Buster is her eyes. Such owner-guide dog relationships are the most touching thing.

Image

This being a children’s book, it’s only thirty-five pages long. The writing style is direct and simple, with plenty of humorous anecdotes, like (SPOILER WARNING), how Buster ate a frog. It’s especially amusing if you actually own dogs, because there are parts where you go, “Oh my god, my dog did that once!”

In a book like this, it’s important to emphasize on the relationship between the owner and the guide-dog. Being a children’s book, this needs to be done very carefully. I was pleased to see that it was. Adventures With Buster is also descriptive about the actual process and daily life of owning a guide dog, such as practicing commands and how you’re not allowed to pet a guide dog while it’s on duty.

All that being said, this was an adorable book. I’d recommend it to any child.

If you would like me to review your published work, please send me an email at theparchmentreview@gmail.com along with a short description of your book and a PDF version of the same. 

3 comments on “Adventures With Buster

  1. London Lake Pickett says:

    DK – Thank you so much! This has been such a great experience for me that I was inspired to write “Vacations with Buster”. I will let you know when I publish it. Happy Tuesday – London

  2. Nive says:

    Haha, sounds adorable!

Comments make me happy!

